Untitled.png

Black Mirror Spoilers

Ever wake up and think you want to escape to somewhere like you know, San Junipero?! Yes…that’s the first thought I had upon waking today.

Thanks to the latest season of Black Mirror, I can’t stop daydreaming into that landscape and world that is the party town and endless dance floor of San Junipero.

I realise that on one level that may sound particularly morbid inferring  the obvious but truly I just want a large dose of escapism for a while where I can drink diet coke in glass bottles (the only and best way to drink it) dance around to nostalgic  80s tunes, play by the ocean and have a whirlwind, passionate romance.

It really resonated with me. Isn’t that what good TV is? When it stays with you, has meaning, taps into a memory and lingers so that you visit that pocket of the show. I must have watched the ending credits 20 times. I tear up every time I watch it and question the notions of happiness and contentment, love and the technology that disturbingly caters for it at the tucker institute.

Maybe I am beyond disillusioned, maybe I am a hopeless romantic or just hopeful… maybe the theme of love really being all that matters was touching some vulnerable spots in me. Well it worked!

Aside from the killer soundtrack and the visuals being so heavily drenched in all things 80s, the writing is great – leaving gaps and keeping dialogue vague to to let the story unfold. I loved this – allowing the audience focus more on what matters – their relationship. It also seemed a refreshing episode suggesting that not all technological endeavours in the future are negative or to be feared. I also think  this episode could be used for a pro euthanasia argument  – allowing people to make decisions and  be empowered , whilst using the metaphor of going to a better place like San Junipero – it could be replaced with any other version of their “ happy place” .

I have read and heard a lot of speculation about Kelly and Yorkie and whether or not they drive off into the sunset and get their perfect ending – I suppose it doesn’t matter. Whatever loop they are in within their consciousness has them together with a complete sense of joy rapture and togetherness.

The song choice couldn’t be better for the closing credit sequence. “ Do you know what that’s worth”  – the value of life, death, choices and chasing the desire to be happy with the time we have.

If anything, Heaven indeed is a place on earth and it is located in big corporate server room at TCKR systems !

 

 

 

 

