easy-tv-series-on-netflix-season-one-key-art-canceled-or-renewed-e1474060417556
After a disastrous date day with myself (yes, that’s a thing….someone has to do it so it may as well be me) where I tried to watch a movie but had a couple commentating the entire way through, I decided to swing into the supermarket get some emotional eating/drinking supplies, head home and see what delights were on Netflix – people and noise free.

“Easy” appeared first in my recommended for you list. I also received an email from Netflix earlier that week so thought I would give it a whirl. 7 episodes later, chip crumbs all over me and running dangerously low on diet coke, it would appear that it held my interest. I only have one left to go….

Let me tell you quickly why I enjoyed it so much. I am pretty fussy. I work in TV, I watch an AWFUL lot of it, I try to write about it and play around with scripts so I suppose I am as much of a critic as anyone can be these days. Joe Swanberg is not unknown to me he is an indie genius … he has an extensive list of work to his name ( not familiar with ALL) – but I have seen his more recent works like “Drinking Buddies” and loved the episode he did of “Love”.

The show is about the interactions and various relationship dynamics in Chicago. Each episode is different, with no obvious  or  consistent continuity and I really like it.  Bite size commentary, interesting insighst and a look into the dynamic and ever changing world of people and how they relate to each other. I found it fascinating  – at least from a psychologically point of view. It’s relevant and realistic in terms of the dialogue and behaviours – you will easily be able to identify people like that in your group or wider circles.  Writing in such a seamless/effortless manner is no easy task – but this show captures this and has executed it successfully.

I was reading a review about it  and was also just told by someone today that it was a “mumblecore” genre…and that the Dupalss Bros (who I ADORE) are in this category – sometimes it baffles me how much I DON’T know. That term is defined as such:

mumblecoreˈ     mʌmb(ə)lkɔː/

noun

  1. a style of low-budget film typically characterized by the use of non-professional actors and naturalistic or improvised performances.

“an actor/filmmaker known for his cinematic experimentations with mumblecore”

I suppose that is accurate – ish. The natural flow of this series is fascinating. It may challenge some people who are used to a particular formula and set up of a TV show – just go with the flow is my advice on this one.

I have found myself pondering relationships around me and wondering what on earth it is like out there these days – all triggered from the show. Perhaps the reason why I thoroughly love this so much is that it is, at its core, very real. There are so many layers, stories, people, places, events and interactions that go on in our daily lives and no one has any idea about those complexities or intricacies. I like that this show provides a potential (even if fictional) insight into what else is going on out there outside of your head and social circle. Such a vastness of experiences!

There is something very exciting and unrefined (not in a bad way) about his style and the way he writes and creates. An exceptional talent and one I hope to draw on it for my future dabbling.

Finally, the best thing about “Easy” is that it is easy to watch!

Check the trailer out….

Oh yeah, it also has a killer cast ….and yes, they are all awesome in their roles… Orlando Bloom, Malin Akerman, Jake Johnson, Marc Maron, Dave Franco, Hannibal Buress, Emily Ratajkowski, Michael Chernus, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Aya Cash, Jane Adams, Elizabeth Reaser, Evan Jonigkeit.

oh and episode 6 – MY OH MY.

 

