HANNIBAL --

*Hannibal finale spoilers*

…except when it comes to Hannibal and Will Graham.

Love comes in many and varied forms. It is expressed in a multitude of ways,words and actions, but what isn’t explored very often are the darker types of love – the love that borders on obsession, is abusive or toxic. In some ways I would say that these two truly have an unconditional love for each other. Perhaps they understand acceptance in a more spiritual light as they both know each other’s darkest parts and still respect and ultimately accept the other.  Maybe they should be the next guests on Oprah’s Soul Series since they seem to be able to demonstrate their capacity to forgive and accept. Then again I am sure Dr Phil would point out the negative aspects of their very damaging and downward spiraling relationship…

I tried to think about the type of love between these two characters and can only say that their depth of their love is undoubtedly due to shared traumatic events. I have often read about those who survive situations together, take war as the most common example, develop inexplicable bonds – there is something to be said about experiencing these events first hand that keeps them bound to each other. It reminds me of great literary classic words were “unspoken” love was often mentioned.

For all Bimagesedilia’s sedated sayings she really captures the core of their relationship “can’t live with him, can’t live without him” .

This phrase surmises perfectly in my opinion the entangled and enmeshed relationship/interaction between Hannibal and Will.

When I think of great TV couples I am taken back to my youth and the likes of Rachel and Ross, Joey and Dawson, Joey and Pacey, Seth and Summer spring to mind. I didn’t think that Will Graham and Hannibal would somehow find a position among this group but the finale seems to have found them a place here, albeit an odd one!

But like any great love there is either tremendous suffering or tremendous bliss. I remember studying story arcs an major plots of the great plays and novels. There is this archetypal story at the core of so many of them. If the lovers can find a way to defeat the obstacle they triumph as lovers, if not, it is deemed a tragedy (think Romeo and Juliet)

Perhaps this finale satisfied me than most because  we see Will surrender and accept their very complicated relationship.

This acceptance comes in the form of Will deciding to end the relationship by launching them off the cliff into the all consuming sea. I rather like that metaphor – wash it all away, drown their demons, into the sea you and me you could go on…

I found this line resonated with me the most in regard to their relationship, and leave you with this:

Will:  “…I’m alone in that darkness.”

Lecter: “You’re not alone Will. I’m standing right beside you.”

HANNIBAL -- Season: 3 -- Pictured: (l-r) Hugh Dancy as Will Graham, Mads Mikkelsen as Hannibal Lecter -- (Photo by: Elisabeth Caren/NBC)

