null
I finally got around to watching the Season 5 premiere of Suits over the weekend. I just wanted to touch on some other elements of the episode that are not strictly about character and plot etc etc.

My first observation was “Wow, Mike gets hotter each season”. Now this increased hotness is not uncommon in a tv series. I find that a lot of  the main characters have subtle differences  (in this case his hair) that makes them more and more appealing each season. The suits speak for themselves. It really wasn’t necessary to refine Mike’s look but I have embraced it fully and no doubt I am not alone in my admiration for him. One has to wonder if the series goes on for 10 seasons like Friends – just how good looking with the Suits cast become?  The best example I can think of on this topic is of Monica, played by the already stunning Courteney Cox. Look at the evolution of Monica’s looks…

null

Another silly observation – it seemed timely that they were quoting “Silence of the Lambs” – Hannibal Lecter given that my beloved Hannibal tv show has been axed… I read reviews that said the Suits writing team wanted to cut it but I am glad they didn’t. That movie has context and cultural relevance in so many facets of life… especially the legal industry where the term cut throat really good have multiple meanings! Just saying NBC…just saying…

To be serious for a moment – the episode left me thinking about how visibly thrown Harvey is.  Seeing Harvey “unsure” just seems an odd fit. It was an interesting glimpse into Harvey’s psyche – one that seems rock solid from past episodes. He is having a hard time of adjusting to the changes in the office.

I enjoyed how Suits have examined how stress and anxiety manifests itself with a strong male protagonist. This was refreshing to me. Harvey is human. Everybody has their ‘thing’ that gets to them. Hopefully this season explores more of Harvey’s emotions – we might get to finally peek into his mind!

In the season finale Donna wanted more from Harvey but he wasn’t willing to take the chance and risk their relationship …so too bad Harvey, you can learn to live without her! Donna is a woman of high value and and at least she took her self worth with her over to Louis.

Doesn’t the saying go “Change will do you good” …

let’s see if it will…
null

