null
No, I wasn’t familiar with that phrase either until last night’s episode of Silicon Valley.
When I heard this escape out of Richard’s “para- paranoid” mouth, a phrase used to describe him by Dinesh during this episode, it made me laugh out loud! I erupted so hard that I choked on a piece of steak . I was coughing so badly and then I started to panic – I had to go in with my fingers and start an extraction plan to fix the situation. It was rather traumatic. The phrase is still making me chuckle to myself this morning.

The reason for the giggling is because anyone who has some type of anxiety (me) often forget how ridiculous we can sound when things gain momentum and start snowballing. The things that escape our mouths are often quite funny to others when we are in the zone of catastrophising. We really don’t mean it to be entertaining and often it seems to take people quite some time to gauge that we are close to having a meltdown!

Richard and I share this super power…
nullSo why was Richard tailspinning? Well, we already know that Richard has some form of an anxiety disorder and his paranoia and stress levels have been building up and affecting his health recently (night sweats.)
Due to the recent unfolding of events between Endframe and Pied Piper, Richard is feeling remorseful about a security expert (Seth) that gets fired from Endframe due to the covert actions of the Pied Piper group. Richards’s guilty conscious sees him confess to Seth about how his company hacked into their system. Seth doesn’t handle the news particularly well and bursts into anger which is directed at Gilfoyle. Richard meets with Seth again to ensure that he definitely won’t do anything to compromise Pied Piper’s system and bake-off with Endframe. After Richard inadvertently reinforces again that Gifloyle simply didn’t care about the whole situation, we see Seth have a verbally explosive conversation with Gilfoyle which likened him to having a form of  “angry tourettes”.

The episode was full of wildly funny things, of course it was, it was directed by Alec Berg and the show just won the Critic’s Choice award for comedy duhhh.

I hope Richard makesnull it though the season without having some stress induced cardiac attack…I mean some people may find his anxiety endearing, like me, so there is hope for us all! He’s only stressed because he cares people!

Just watch the episode!

