rsz_nightsweats

*Silicon Valley spoilers*

I don’t know about anyone else, but  I found Richard drenched in sweat somewhat appealing…Now before you start judging my already unhealthy obsession with a fictional TV character, I want to draw your attention to this fact – women have always been attracted to the dirty, sweaty, earthy types throughout the ages haven’t we?

Yeah the guys below just look totally awful covered in sweat…no attraction happening whatsoever….

null
A sweaty and dirty Brad Pitt
null
An over heated Ryan Gosling

It’s even scientifically proven that a quick whiff of a man’s sweat can raise those cortisol levels and increases our sex drive.

If some of us can find Zac Effron sweating to be “hot” then I feel justified that Richard sweating is just as appealing. Is there really that much difference between exercise sweat and stress sweat? So whilst it was a nasty night terror for Richard I have to say the sexy sweat component did float through my head.51506302 Actor Zac Efron filming scenes on the set of 'We Are Your Friends' in Los Angeles, California on August 19, 2014. Zac was happy to get back to work after spending most of the summer with his rumored girlfriend Michelle Rodriguez in Ibiza, Spain. FameFlynet, Inc - Beverly Hills, CA, USA - +1 (818) 307-4813

I can’t really see that much of a difference can you…? The end result is still the same regardless of the precursor – the subject is still covered in sweat.

If I took this journey inward, it makes me realise just how much of a connection Richard and I would share. Clearly we  have quite high levels of anxiety. As previously mentioned on another blog post, we have a common understanding of IBS movements. Stress is a recurrent theme in both our lives. Admittedly I am not the CEO of a start up company but I have had my share of stressful moments this week  – thus the ebb and flow of being an assistant. I think we have similar tendencies to be over achievers without shouting it from the rooftops. Introverted, over achievers with busy internal organs.

My stomach is the first to suffer at the first signs of stress. Acid reflux really rears its head especially under extreme duress. Involve a member of the opposite sex and this situation inevitably ensues – see Richard below after the tech crunch win post  an interaction with Monica.

vom

Let’s take a closer look at our similarities – Richard and I self medicate with beverages. His poison of choice is red bull mine is diet coke. Both are diuretics and we both have “alleged”  bed wetting/light bladder incontinence issues due to the volumes we consume. Both are full of caffeine which helps us with our long hours and the need to be alert and ready for anything. We both internalise our stress to the point where it comes out of our bodies be it in the form of sweat or poop.

I get over heated quite a lot at night – even in the midst of winter I need to have limbs escaping from the covers or I feel constricted and trapped. I often wake up sweaty but not drenched in night sweats. This is a reflection of my inability to sort out my body’s thermostat. I can’t ever get the balance right…thus I prefer colder climates to limit sweating. I won’t even get started on stress, sweat and the effects of make up…

I am always trying to alleviate the above issues with exercise,yoga and mediation.  I suspect that Hooli have a wide range of exercise classes to attend and I am surprised we haven’t seen Gavin Belson doing some reformer pilates or yoga. I really feel the Pied Piper gang could benefit from implementing this into their work/life balance. Richard should probably look into meditating and no doubt his Guru teacher could be Erlich.

Perhaps they could even wear their new kimonos whilst performing downward dogs.

Something to ponder…

