“I lived in the UK for 7 years and never met any man who was anything like either Hugh Grant or Colin Firth”

Heard this morning whilst walking to work.

I actually had to stop walking and just take a moment to process that information and digest it adequately. What devastating news to hear at 7:30am in the morning and on a Thursday morning no less. Monday might have been more manageable but certainly not on the downhill weekend run.

What particularly did these women mean? It got me thinking…and I love to entertain my head space with Hugh and Colin. What female wouldn’t?

I realise that I spend a considerable amount of time in the romantic landscapes of my head and I am aware they are quite removed from reality but… great love stories do exist and can happen so I choose to remain eternally hopefully/blissfully ignorant. I blame the rom-com genre largely for this fantasy and Hugh Grant and Colin Firth play a big role in this area! I find them both/their characters intoxicating.

I guess we may as well start with the most obvious character – in his pure period piece sexiness, we have Colin Firth’s portrayal of Mr. Darcy from the 1995 BBC miniseries Pride and Prejudice. There has been a plethora of commentary -both literary and otherwise about Mr Darcy but I can sum it all up with this quote:null

“In vain have I struggled. It will not do. My feelings will not be repressed. You must allow me to tell you how ardently I admire and love you.” – Mr Darcy to Elizabeth Bennet

Does anyone do ardently anymore? Anyone? Anyone? Someone please show me ardently.

Perhaps if it was this concept those women were referring to then I get their point…

Colin seems earnest in real life and maybe that is such a rarity in men these days. He definitely plays a reluctant sex symbol well! I mean his appeal stretches over huge age differences with women from teens to the elderly!

I certainly know that Colin Firth is by no means type cast in roles however a lot of his characters are emotionally sensitive. He really conveys the ‘still waters run deep’ theory that women love to pick apart.Think of the films he is in; Easy Virtue, Love Actually, Hope Springs, Mama Mia, The Accidental Husband and let’s move on to one of my favourites, Bridget Jones’s Diary.

We get a delightful double dose with these two in this film. Mark Darcy played by Colin Firth. He definitely fits the criteria of tall, dark and handsome. I am sure a lot of you have seen it so I don’t need to go into detail or character analysis but his charm can be summed up in this quote:

Mark Darcy: I like you, very much.
Bridget: Ah, apart from the smoking and the drinking, the vulgar mother and… ah, the verbal diarrhoea.
Mark Darcy: No, I like you very much. Just as you are.

Be still my beating heart indeed! I think if anyone said that to me I might just pass out.
To be honest I don’t know why more men aren’t watching all these movies and taking notes. So simple and so effective. I am not sure what this taps into but this shy,awkward and unassuming emotive man is somewhat appealing. I think at the heart of Colin’s characters there is this awkwardness and level of misunderstanding as detailed in this clip and including the above quote of swooning awesomeness.

Let’s now chat about Daniel Cleaver played by High Grant. Without a doubt he embodies everything we should stay away from in a man.(I have blogged about this previously) We definitely know that this type of character exists. He creates that witty banter girls can’t get enough of, coupled with irresistible charm and office raciness. Imagine Daniel Cleaver on text. I get flustered thinking about that. We can all identify a Daniel Cleaver. Surely these women don’t want this element of Daniel Cleaver and we certainly don’t want a man who likes to involve himself with prostitutes from time to time either? I think perhaps the women this morning were looking at a highlights package of them both, thus the reason they can’t find any replications of them.  Hugh Grant does have that British cheekiness present in all his films. Think about Four Weddings and a Funeral,Notting Hill, Music and Lyrics, About a Boy, Sense and Sensibility to name a few. Bumbling, fumbling, considered English accents will do a lot for females it would seem. In person, his wit is lightening fast and perhaps this is what my ladies nullthis morning were referencing. The English humour and wit is a rare treat to experience. It definitely has a strange hold over women. Perhaps that is not prevalent because we live in Australia.. I don’t have any answers fellow females!

I feel like those women this morning hadn’t really given that comment the attention it deserved. They hadn’t really workshopped the idea thoroughly. I can only conclude that they/women everywhere have an idea in their heads of what Hugh Grant and Colin Firth represent – and it seems to be a hybrid of their on screen characters and snippets of their real life persona.

Either way, I urge all women to remain positive that we can find elements of Hugh and Colin on this earth and if you can’t there’s no harm in a little daydream from time to time…

null

