null

I love a good bath. There are days where I don’t want to leave the bath at all. Days where you want to wash your troubles away. Days where I would rather stay in my own warm, soapy goodness and deal with prune like skin than have to deal with the real word.
I think that we are often divided into those who shower and those who bathe. Those who shower in the morning and those who shower at night. For the record, I am a night time bather but will do a bath and then a shower if I must wash my hair. You see, I find that only certain acts are available to me in the bath such as shaving my legs. I have had many a bruise from slipping and sliding and falling whilst trying to stand in a shower and shave. I have done this when forced to (mostly whilst travelling) and I end up with giant strips of hair that have been overlooked in my shower shaving attempts.
A bath is the key element when I have been renting and when I do own a house the bathroom will be a key feature. Most places seem to eradicate the bath altogether which is unfathomable to me. I spent many hours searching rental websites to ensure that the places had a bath.
I may even have my own private pinterest board of amazing baths from around the world. I am not alone http://www.pinterest.com/elledecor/amazing-bathrooms/ there are some truly fantastic and amazing architectural designs here.
I like my warm, private bubble (bath) of solitude. I resent the fact that I actually have to leave it. I don’t see why I can’t do my job from the bath. We now have standing work stations well what about relaxing floating ones? There’s surely an untapped market there. Sure you would have to wear your swimming costume, but think of the amazingness that this would entail.

I saw a bath like this and thought it would be perfectUntitled – you can use your laptop, iphone and a spot for the diet coke and meals. There really is a lot you can do in the bath. You can stretch, read, write, listen to music,take and make phone calls, drink, eat and so on.

I have recently taken my bathing habits to new heights over the past years. I have become an open bather, a public bather. Once upon a time that concept instilled copious amounts of fear but I have the many bodies of Budapest to thank for this. I visited the thermal baths and here I saw every body type possible all bonding together for our love of the bath. I visited Széchenyi Thermal Baths – What a wonderland indeed. Forget Disneyland, this could be the happiest place on earth and it’s beneficial to your health. Rich in natural elements, soothing and relaxing to your muscles, these baths cater for so many health issues. Name an element and find a bath that caters for it!

There are indoor baths, outdoor baths, baths for arthritis, baths for healing, hot baths, cold baths – you name it you can find it! I mean look at it! One big giant complex full of baths = heaven!

Then we have the city of Bath in England. What an aptly named city indeed. I could live and breathe and truly embody the bath in all aspects. I guess my life would look like this – I live in Bath, with an amazing bathroom and several baths and I visit the baths of Bath often. What a glorious sounding life indeed!

null I don’t know why I love them so much but maybe I am lazy. Maybe I don’t want to stand up and work some more in the shower. Why would you want to stand up when you can lay down. In the shower I feel like my mind is still jumping around but in the bath at least I try to unwind a little. I also like that you can put so many things in the bath and just soak it all away. Salts, scrubs, bubbles, amazing smelling bath bombs etc.

I think Sylvia said it best.

“I am sure there are things that can’t be cured by a good bath but I can’t think of one.”
— Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar

I leave you with Sweep from the Sooty Show – where some of his best moments and my fondest memories are of him in the bath. (at 26 seconds in)

